The story of 10CC – sublime documentary of a remarkable band

BBC4 have done it again. I’m Not In Love: The Story of 10CC is an absolutely sublime documentary. The remarkable range of footage and interviews tells the fascinating story of one of the most innovative and under-rated bands ever.

I often struggle with answering the question: “Who’s your favourite singer or what’s your favourite band?”. After years of reflection it’s “David Bowie” and “10CC”. I know the album “Sheet Music” like the back of my hand. It is one of the most elaborate and ingenious albums in the history of pop music.

After watching the BBC 4 documentary I finally managed a feat which has been eluding me for 40-odd years. I finally managed to explain to someone (my wife, as it happens) which one’s which – Godley, Creme, Stewart and Gouldman. It is a mark of the great teamwork in the band that one has to pause to work out which is which.

You can watch the programme on BBC iPlayer here until it expires.

Leave a Reply

