The magic of Slim Harpo

Embed from Getty Images

I am rediscovering my love of music. After surviving on a very limited playlist of my “device” for a while, I have now invested in a UE Bluetooth Boom box, which is excellent, plus subscribing to Spotify Premium. I figure that when my music discovery voyage was at its height, I used to spend a fortune on vinyl, so forking out on Spotify is much less than that.

This week I stumbled upon the music of Slim Harpo. He was a Louisiana-based “swamp blues” artist who lived from 1924 to 1970. I don’t know how he managed it, but every track of his is pure gold – each a bit different, with a fantastic sound. Part of the magic is that it was all recorded using valves and in one take in an echoey studio, which gives the music a wonderful sound.

Here’s a couple of great tracks from him:



