The endless ingenuity of cold callers to try to talk themselves out of the Telephone Preference Service

Embed from Getty Images

I was cold called by Xxxxxx from the “Energy Efficiency Centre” this afternoon (I won’t say the guy’s name as he has a living to earn even though he has been misdirected by his superiors). That by the way, is the well established entity called the “Energy Efficiency Centre” which doesn’t come up on a Google search.

I said straight away that we’re on the Telephone Preference Service. He replied that they contacted me through machine dialling on their computer which is not covered by the TPS, which only covers manually dialled calls.

I then wished him “good afternoon”. He continued to argue with me so I sang “Good afternoon” to him and put the phone down.

These companies are endlessly inventive aren’t they?

