Play it loud – the story of the Marshall amp

Embed from Getty Images

I occasionally scout around on the Sky box for documentaries to store up to watch when my girls are out. When I downloaded “Play it loud: The Story of the Marshall Amp” I expected this would be one recording I watched for a few minutes then got bored.

In fact the programme is absolutely fascinating. I just assumed that the Marshall amp was created in America somewhere. But, in fact, it was created in West London in a shop frequented by the likes of Pete Townsend and Eric Clapton when they were young. It is now made in Milton Keynes. And what did you know? “Marshall” was Jimi Hendrix’s middle name. Very appropriate.

Well done BBC 4 for a wonderful programme, which you can watch here for the next 17 days.

