I have changed my comments policy

After nine years of blogging I have changed my comments policy. I used to say that I allow any comments as long as they are not potentially defamatory. For most of the time that will continue to be the case, but I reserve the right to reject comments if I just don’t feel like publishing them.

The knee-jerk reaction is to call rejection of comments “illiberal” and indeed I used to be of that view (although I never used to buy the moronic line that comment rejection is “censorship”). However, it is part of a liberal society that there are owned units of publication. Book publishers. Newspaper publishers. It is a liberal right of each of those owners to publish what they like in their publications. It is just the same with bloggers. This is my blog and I will publish what I feel like on it. If your comment is not published here there are, of course, millions of places elsewhere where you can publish it. Notwithstanding that, I am very grateful for you for reading this blog and thank you for your comments, most of which will be published.

So this is my new comments policy:

I regard this blog as my personal space. I will therefore publish your comments if I feel like it.

If you want to make contrary smart-arse remarks, go and do it somewhere else.

This is where I get to be the smart-arse.

