RIP Ronnie Carroll – Double UK Eurovision singer who's still on the ballot paper in Hampstead and Kilburn

Embed from Getty Images

In a previous life I had a radio show where I played records from the 50s, 60s and 70s. I played songs occasionally by Northern Irish singer Ronnie Carroll. “Roses are red” was one I particularly remember playing. It was number 3 in the charts in 1962. I have it on vinyl, carefully “archived” in my loft. Carroll had six top forty hits between 1956 and 1963. He represented the UK in the Eurovision Song contest in 1962 with “Ring-a-ding girl” which came fourth. The following year he represented us with “Say wonderful things” which also came fourth. He was the only singer to represent the UK in Eurovision twice.

Sadly, Ronnie Carroll passed away this week, aged 81. I’ve embedded “Roses are red” below.

As well as being a singer, Carroll was politically active. He stood in the 2008 Haltemprice and Howden by-election. He was a regular phone-in caller on BBC Radio London and was standing as an independent candidate in Hampstead and Kilburn. Because nominations had closed prior to his demise, his name will still be on the ballot paper. If he is elected, the election for that constituency will have to be re-run.

