BBC News themes – the good and the hilarious – and the breathtaking cool of Sue Lawley

Apropos of very little, I have been mossying around on YouTube.

A BBC look-back at the studio invasion of the Six O’Clock News in 1988 whetted my apetitite. This video above is the gallery talk-back version of the incident. It shows how the staff did extremely well to keep the bulletin on the air in all the confusion and noise. Quite extraordinary. And Sue Lawley’s cool composure is breathtaking. What a star she is! I think I have been a little in love with her since, in the 1960s, she opened the fete at Bude’s Ebbingford Manor and said “Would you like want one?” to me. She was giving out ice creams or something similar.

Well, that got me fishing around. The news theme of that broadcast of 1988 was one of the best the BBC have ever had. Fantastic music with superb “bread slice” graphics. Just wonderful. And I should give a shout out to Patrick Lunt, whose wonderful bass voice blasts out the introduction. He is sometimes referred to as “the voice of God”:

In sharp contrast, there is this intro from the Nine O’Clock News from around the same time, circa 1985. The music is excellent. I can see what they were trying to do with the graphics. But, looking back at it, it all comes across as a rather naff game of space invaders. Oh dear. It makes me giggle out loud every time I see it! It must have seemed like a good idea at the time:

Leave a Reply

