My "gay bonnet"

CRA01008Or how language has changed…

As I got into the car with him to head for our family Father’s Day dinner, my father-in-law, who is, bless him, 92 years of age, looked at my new cap and remarked:

That’s a gay bonnet

There was no undercurrent of irony or double-meaning in his comment. He simply meant, in 2014 language:

That’s a cool hat

There was some familial amusement at his remark which was not, I fear, strictly in compliance with the fine aspirations of the Preamble to the Constitution of the Liberal Democrats.

I had no idea I had bought a “bonnet”. I thought I had bought a “cap”.

My “gay bonnet” is available on Headict.com and pictured above on their site.

Leave a Reply

