12 years a slave – very disturbing but ultimately rewarding

SlavesA window opened up in my schedule today to watch “12 years a slave”. I was braced for something fairly serious. I have to say it is an absolutely classic film. Superbly acted, brilliantly filmed. It packs an extremely powerful punch. I found many of the scenes profoundly disturbing. I had to hold back sobs on several occasions. But, ultimately it is a rewarding film which gives us, I hope, a better insight into slavery.

One of the things which struck me about the film, was the juxtaposition of the glorious hot and beautiful rural deep South of the USA with unspeakable acts of torture and murder, going on while people went about their business.

12 years a slave deserves to win a wheelbarrow full of Oscars.

Leave a Reply

