The Book of Mormon – tears were rolling down my cheeks

image“Tears were rolling down my cheeks” sounds a bit like one of those critic’s quotes they put outside West End theatres. Then you realise that the critic’s tears were those of distress.

This afternoon I had tears of laughter rolling down my cheeks after seeing “Book of Mormon” at the Prince of Wales theatre.

It really is the best show I have ever seen! It was well worth waiting several months to see it. I would strongly recommend seeing it at your earliest opportunity.

It’s really hilariously funny and the songs are fantastic.

This is a similar situation to “The life of Brian”. That wasn’t blasphemous. I don’t think it is right to judge this show from a theological point of view. It is a very funny and gloriously entertaining show. That’s it. In fact, it is all so jumbled up, from a religious point of view, that you can take what you like from it. I think it certainly leaves one with a very favourable opinion of the young men who come round to see one.

I see that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints has bought three pages of advertising in the show’s programme, so well done to them for having a sense of humour.

Photo: License Some rights reserved by David McKelvey

Leave a Reply

