Goodbye Granadaland

imageWe’ve just finished watching Goodbye Granadaland introduced by Peter Kay. I thoroughly recommend it – on ITV Player here. What an astonishing history of TV programme making that building has!

Granada put us up in Manchester’s prestigious Midland Hotel when we were participants in a quiz show, as I recalled in 2010:

On a personal note, I was actually on the Granada Call sheet for one day with the Coronation Street cast (in 1989). I was appearing with my dearly beloved in a quiz programme made at the same studios called “Perception” in the late eighties. I have a photo somewhere of me standing on the Rovers Return set (which at the time was temporarily in the basement by a corridor with not so much as a door protecting it). And the number of times I have cursed myself for not half-inching that Call Sheet at the end of the day are numerous!

Leave a Reply

