Australian PM Julia Gillard deals skilfully with absurd questioning about her partner

Prime Minister Julia Gillard (25)From ABC news, here’s the transcript of the controversial section of a cent interview between Australian PM Julia Gillard and Howard Sattler, now ex-presenter on Perth’s 6PR radio station:

HOWARD SATTLER: Myths, rumours, snide jokes and innuendoes, you’ve been the butt of them many times.

JULIA GILLARD: Well I think that’s probably right. We’ve certainly seen that this week.

HOWARD SATTLER: May I test a few out?

JULIA GILLARD: In what way?

HOWARD SATTLER: Tim’s gay.

JULIA GILLARD: Well…

HOWARD SATTLER: That’s not me saying it, that’s a myth.

JULIA GILLARD: Well, that’s absurd.

HOWARD SATTLER: But you hear it. He must be gay, he’s a hairdresser.

JULIA GILLARD: Oh well… isn’t that…

HOWARD SATTLER: You’ve heard it. It’s not me saying it, it’s what people…

JULIA GILLARD: Howard, I don’t know whether every silly thing that gets said is going to be repeated to me now…

HOWARD SATTLER: No, no, no but…

JULIA GILLARD: But, you know, to all the hairdressers out there, including the men who are listening, I don’t think in life one can actually look at a whole profession full of different human beings and say: Gee, we know something about everyone of those human beings. I mean it’s absurd isn’t it?

HOWARD SATTLER: You can confirm that he’s not?

JULIA GILLARD: Oh Howard, don’t be ridiculous.

JULIA GILLARD: Of course not.

HOWARD SATTLER: Are you in a heterosexual relationship, that’s all I’m asking?

JULIA GILLARD: Well Howard, you and I have just talked about that, so now that is bordering…

HOWARD SATTLER: I want to…

JULIA GILLARD: Howard, just let’s just…

HOWARD SATTLER: I want to get rid of it…

JULIA GILLARD: Let me just, let me just bring you back to earth.

HOWARD SATTLER: I’m not saying it.

JULIA GILLARD: Right, well, let me just bring you back to earth. You and I have just talked about me and Tim living at The Lodge, we live there together as a couple. You know that.

Yes, on the internet, you know, there are lots of, you know, what I’ve referred to in the past as nutjobs, and I’m happy to use the expression again.

HOWARD SATTLER: Good!

JULIA GILLARD: People who peddle and circulate vile and offensive things.

HOWARD SATTLER: Awful things.

JULIA GILLARD: Yeah, absolutely.

Leave a Reply

