Clegg apology – the view from the Man on the Brisbane omnibus

Last night I took an evening off from Liberal Democracy, to enjoy a pie and a pint in one of Hove’s finest hostelries.

At the bar I got chatting to a man who arrived in the UK last Sunday from Brisbane with his family. I heard his accent and mentioned to him that I had recently been “Down Under”.

He then asked what I was doing in Brighton and Hove, and I told him.

He was then very curious, and said that he had seen a bit of ITV “Daybreak” about the conference. Then, with a brow furrowed with curiosity he asked:

Hey, what is your guy having to say sorry about?

I took a deep breath and explained the situation in just over 60 seconds.

After listening intently to my explanation, our man from Brisbane said:

Jeez mate, I thought he’d actually done something wrong

One thought on “Clegg apology – the view from the Man on the Brisbane omnibus

Leave a Reply

